Jason Quale Stays Hot With Solid Consistency, Casey Pehrson Survives Late-Race Fight to Nab First Career Pro Truck Main Event

By: Nate Graves 

PR: Pro Truck Series

Pocatello Idaho

July 17, 2017


The Pro Trucks took on the notoriously tough and feverishly flat ¼ mile oval at the Pocatello Raceway in two main events on Saturday night with the running of the Extreme Staffing, Extreme 40/40 presented by NAPA Auto Parts.

Despite the fact that Mason Newhouse likely reclaimed the points lead and capitalized on points leader John Newhouse’s absence, it’s safe to say that the big winners coming away from Saturday night’s action in the Gate City were Jason Quale and Casey Pehrson.


Although his day started off at the bottom of the speed-charts in practice, Jason Quale persevered in qualifying by nabbing his second straight fast qualifier award. From that point on the driver of the no. 12 seemingly had things on lock-down.

In the first main, Quale dominated the field by driving to the front from the inside of the back row in-route to capturing his 2nd career win. Although he did wind up unsuccessful in his bid to win both mains, Quale was able to load it up in one piece and tow it home knowing full well that his current streak of 3 straight top 2 finishes has effectively placed his name right back into the title conversation. Jerry Rice came out of the first 40 with a 2nd place finish, Casey Pehrson ran 3rd, with Mason Newhouse crossing the stripe 4th, while “Montana” Ron Lawser scored his first top 5 of the season.   


Although Casey Pehrson showed a lot of strength Saturday night, the unfortunate truth of the matter is that he is most likely out of the championship hunt. Pehrson, who missed the last race, came into the Extreme 40/40 presented by NAPA sitting 221 points out of the lead. But that’s obviously factor that meant very little to the driver of the no. 62 as he was able to capture his first career win after a hard-fought, last-lap-fender-fight with Jason Quale gave the Pocatello race-fans a true taste of what Pro Truck racing is really all about.


And while Pehrson did roll off on the outside of the front row, his first career win did not come easy. After a seemingly dominate performance through the first 30 laps, Pehrson was set with the nearly impossible task of holding off a hard-charging Jason Quale. And despite the two drivers making contact multiple times over the course of the final 10 laps, Pehrson’s proven talent, coupled with a great pit crew and a burning desire to nab his first career victory won out in the end.

After a celebratory burn-out on the front-stretch nearly wiped out the NAPA Auto Parts Pace-Car, a jubilant Casey Pehrson told the crowd what it meant to be, he and his pit-crew to finally come out on top.


With Pehrson and Quale finishing one and two respectively in the second main, Salt Lake City’s Jayden Park rebounded from a dismal run outside the top five in the first main to finish 3rd in the second 40. Jerry Rice finished 4th and Mason Newhouse brought it home 5th


The Pro Truck Series is a regional touring series competing in Idaho and Utah. You can catch them in action at Meridian Speedway, Magic Valley Speedway, Pocatello Raceway, and Rocky Mountain Raceway. The trucks are full fiberglass bodied race vehicles with a spec motor, transmission, rear-end, and suspension.


Next race for the Pro Trucks will be Saturday July 29th at the Magic Valley Speedway for their second race of the year in the Magic Valley. 


Find us on the Web at www.ProTruckSeries.com and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/protruckseries


Print Print | Sitemap
© Pro Truck Series / Kerr Racing Promotions 2017